Take note that if the user resets the router, all of their personalized settings will get reset too. Here are the steps to reset the Netgear router:
- Locate the Reset button at the back of the Netgear router. It might be labeled as Reset or Restore Factory Settings. The name may vary for different router models.
- Using a paper clip or something similar, press and hold the reset button for about ten seconds.
- After holding the reset button for ten seconds, release the button. The LED lights on the front of the router will start blinking. Once the LED lights become stable, the router will have reset.
It is advised that the reset process isn’t interrupted as it may corrupt the router. After the reset has been completed, the user can login to their Netgear router using the default information of the router. The user can now choose to configure their router using the Smart Wizard web interface.